Rylee has 20/200 vision

By Todd





Rylee is 8 now. She is in the 3rd grade. She goes to Freedom Christian Acadamy. She is a very good student. She strives to make straight A's. Actually, she had a melt down last year durning a family night when they called her for the RED honor which was A/B honor roll and not the BLUE honor roll which is all A's. (She had a 92.something% B in handwritng) She places high expitations on herself. She likes things to be her way. When a project comes home from school, she wants to get her poster board that night even if it is not due until next month. She reminds us all the time to do things that are coming up. I guess she does'nt trust that we can do things without her. Not that we have ever forgot. She doesn't like to break the rules or for anyone around her to break rules. Her cousins like to mess with her and put their toes across a line at Disney that says stand behind the yellow line. Just to watch her panic. Todd and I have always called her "Special" Because we didn't know what else to call her. When she was an infant & toddler -98% of the time she is perfect but that 2% that she wasn't everyone knew it. She can push her daddy's buttons more that anyone. (I think they are alot alike) However, she can melt hearts just as fast. She is very tender hearted. She always thinks of people that are less fortunate. She loves all babies. She trys to take care of them all. She says she wants to be a first grade teacher when she grows up. For the ones of you that don't truely know her I wanted to paint you a picture. She normally will over react. I made up a term and said she had hyperconderosis & sympithtis. Which means she turns any small element into a disease & she can catch a cold from over the phone, kinda like her granddaddy. ha ha ha So when Mrs Fussaro her 3rd grade teacher asked us if Rylee told us that she said she could'nt see the board. We said No Rylee has never said she could'nt see before.... but my first thought was is this her hyperconderosis & sympithtis kicking in. Did she say that because a friend said it. We decided to piggy back Rylee on Kortney sports physical and have the peditrician check her eyes. Just in case. Well he said she was definatly struggling to see. He thought it was 20/140 & to go to an eye doctor immediatley. Her appointment was today. She only reminded us 4 hundred 72 thousand times. The doctor checked her out and told us that her vision was 20/200 and exaplained that she was living in her own world. We felt so bad, but the doctor said she doesn't know any better. I asked how we did'nt know and he said that she has been compensating for her poor vision. I explained that she was a good student and reader. He said that was because her best vision was at about 50 cm. Which is about the distance to her desk. We picked out glasses. The ladies that sale the glasses were going on about they could'nt beleive she has'nt ever had glasses before & they hope they are here when we picks her glasses up. They want to see her when she see for the first time. They also went on about how pretty her eyes are. She was so funny....she had the frames on without special lenses and she said "I can see way over there now" After laughing alittle,we explained that they were not her real glasses. That we would get them next week. Well we shared the news with some friends and family. We were still in shock that she could'nt see well. We posted a picture of Rylee in the frames she pick out on facebook and received great comments about how cute she was. One of our comments was from a family friend who said "Poor Rylee is leagally blind" I thought it was an expression until I remember that my friend used to work for an Optometrist & that she went on mission trip to give out glasses. I immediatly googled 20/200 and the words were there. Legally Blind- my heart broke and my eyes swelled up because I did'nt want this for her. I would take it for her if I could. I am blown away right now because the doctor did'nt use those words. I feel like I should have known that she could'nt see. I just have to give those beautiful eyes over to the Lord. Rylee is excited about her cool new glasses. Now, we really can't wait for the real glasses to get here. So she can see the beauty that our Lord created.
 

14 comments so far.

  1. E September 10, 2008 at 1:56 PM
    Ah, Leeanne. . .
    I just read this and now all I want to do is come home and see my BFF Rylee!!
    I can't wait to see her and her new glasses. Tell her I'll show her the glasses I wear when I read. And that I LOVE HER! and her mama!
  2. E September 11, 2008 at 11:42 AM
    I know I already commented, but. . . she is already an incredible student, soccer player, basketball player, friend. Just imagine now. . .
  3. Todd September 11, 2008 at 12:50 PM
    Thanks... you know sometimes it takes a village...
  4. Meghann September 15, 2008 at 11:35 AM
    Dont freak about the legally bling thing. I'm so legally bling ...without my glasses or contacts in i can't see in front of me. I tell you this b/c I just thank God that he made smart people that can help me see!!
  5. Meghann September 15, 2008 at 11:35 AM
    soory meant legally blind
  6. Sara September 18, 2008 at 7:51 PM
    I laughed and cried while I was reading your blog today! I can't believe I didn't notice it when I had her. I agree with the second comment. She is already a great student and sports player. Now she will be unbelievable. Tell Rylee I can't wait to see her new glasses. Well, actually, I will see her tomorrow for the first craft time. Don't tell her though. It's a SURPRISE:)
  7. leahjaine September 21, 2008 at 4:23 PM
    I love her glasses so much she looks super cute. she and I can wear our glasses together and be twins. my Left eye and her eyes are even the same prescription...so we must be twins.

    love you guys so much!

    Rylee welcome to the glasses club :D
  8. Melanie April 9, 2009 at 3:00 PM
    I was googling 20/200 vision and came across your post.My 8 year old was just yesterday diagnosed with 20/200 vision yesterday and she too is a straight A student and has never had glasses.I feel bad for not knowing sooner,but I am so curious as to how they are able to maintain good grades and how we as parents had no clue.I am glad that we now know
  9. Anonymous September 12, 2009 at 8:24 AM
    Wow. Thank you for sharing your story. I was totally unaware that 20/200 is legally blind. Your daughter is really cute. I really did not know how many families are affected with this type of vision. My daughter Angelina is seven years old and in January she was 20/40 and now eight months later she is 20/200. She just recently started to squint in school which is why I took her back sooner.
  10. Nicole September 22, 2009 at 8:55 PM
    My daugther was also seen by an eye doctor in Feb.2009 with 20/30 vision and now September she has 20/200 vision I wanted to cry in the exam room when she could only read the second line down from the big E. I also did not know it was legally blind I am glad to know I am not the only partent out there like this.
  11. Unknown July 17, 2010 at 2:48 PM
    I was doing a search on 20/200 vision because that is all my son can see and I wanted to see an example of what it's like to see 20/200. I came across this blog. To the woman who said she almost cried in the exam room - I completely understand! My 11-year old son has a rare eye disease and his vision is not correctable with glasses and there is no cure. He's a black belt in karate and makes straight A's. I believe children with vision problems definitely overcompensate in other areas but hopefully that will ensure they still lead a great life.
  12. randomdefence November 19, 2010 at 2:43 AM
    I was reading about 20/200 vision and saw your post, I too am diagnosed with this, however I am not legally blind. You need the distinction that if someone has strongest glasses on and is still 20/200 try are legally blind, the fact that glasses can correct it means she is not close and can go on living a long happy life.
  13. Unknown November 27, 2010 at 12:57 AM
    I hate to comment on such an old post, but I thought it might be worth mentioning that she is not legally blind. For most legal definitions, one is considered legally blind if their visual acuity is 20/200 with the best correction possible - that means that she would only be legally blind if wearing glasses couldn't correct her vision. In all likelihood, wearing glasses will correct her vision to or near 20/20, so you've nothing to worry about.
  14. Sean Unborn June 29, 2011 at 12:18 AM
    Hey just so u know im 13 years old and im pretty sure my vision WITHOUT GLASSES is 20/200 or worse, it doesn't mean she is legally blind nor am I. I am a straight A student and you shouldn't be worried because legally vlind is if someone's vision is 20/200 with glasses and their vision cannot be corrected past 20/200. Your daughter is headed the right way! :)

Something to say?